Gluten Free Food List
Your doctor has just told you that you or a loved one is suffering from celiac disease. What now? There is no cure for celiac disease, but you can learn to cut down on the symptoms of the disease. Learn how to live gluten free.
Gluten has become popular, but in a not so good way. It is the protein found in the endosperm of certain grains like rye, wheat and barley. It is hard to separate the protein in this part of the grain from the rest of the grain when you grind it into flour. Flour is needed to make all sorts of foods like breads, pastas, cakes, cookies and the like.
Gluten itself is a binding agent that is also utilized in the non-food industry. For instance, lipstick manufacturers use gluten. In the medical industry, it is used in medications and vitamins in gelatin found in these products. Until you realize that you are allergic to something, it is hard to understand how much that substance is used in your surrounding environment.
Knowing what you can’t eat on a gluten free diet makes it easier to avoid those foods and enjoy the rest.
Living Gluten Free
Once you find out how many of your usual foods contain gluten, you might be surprised. People often begin by avoiding bread, but that is not the only food that is in question here. If you stop eating one but not the others, you can still experience the often painful symptoms of the disease. Even if you are one of the many who don’t experience the traditional signs and symptoms like bloating, constipation, diarrhea or cramps, your intestines are still being attacked. The result will still be a lack of nutrition in your body which threatens your health and well-being.
Part of knowing how to proceed after such a diagnosis is to learn what you can and cannot safely eat on your diet. We use the word “diet” here to denote a lifestyle of eating not restricting foods for weight loss.
Let’s start with what you need to avoid. The main grains are rye, wheat, and barley – but there are others that contain gluten like:
* Durum flour
* Graham flour
* Triticale (wheat and rye combined)
* Malt, malt vinegar and malt flavoring made from barley
These grains and their derivatives are used as ingredients in a host of other products you probably have around your home right now.
* Croutons and bread crumbs
* French fries
* Gravy and powdered gravy mixes
* Pasta of all types
* Soup mixes
* Snack foods
* Imitation seafood
One of your new routines will be checking ingredient lists on the foods that you buy. Unless a package specifically says “gluten free,” assume that it is not. Also, look for labels that warn of cross-contamination in places where gluten products are processed using the same equipment as gluten-containing foods. Even crumbs or dust containing gluten can cause the inflammatory process to take place within your body.